Mission Square Retirement Memorial Scholarship Fund

The MissionSquare Retirement Memorial Scholarship Fund (MissionSquare Memorial Scholarship Fund) was founded in 2001 to honor the lives of our nation's police officers, firefighters, and other local and state government employees who died while in service to their community. In 2020, the MissionSquare Retirement Memorial Scholarship Fund expanded its reach to include employees in the mission-adjacent education, healthcare and not-for-profit industries.

The fund provides financial assistance to the surviving spouses and children of employees who have died in the line of duty and are planning to attend an accredited two-year community college, four-year accredited university, or vocational school full-time.

Each year, scholarships are awarded to selected students. Since its inception, the MissionSquare Retirement Memorial Scholarship Fund has awarded more than $900,000 in scholarships to hundreds of recipients. The MissionSquare Retirement Memorial Scholarship Fund is a Section 501(c) (3) public charity. The fund's Board of Directors manages and oversees the eligibility and award selection process. Scholarships are managed and administered through Scholarship AmericaNational Fallen Firefighters Foundation (NFFF) and the Concerns of Police Survivors (COPS).

MissionSquare Retirement is a non-profit independent financial services corporation focused on providing retirement plans and related services for more than 1.5 million public sector participant accounts and over 9,800 retirement plans. For more information, visit www.icmarc.org.

Annual Amount

Awards are for tuition and fees only for students pursuing vocational, undergraduate, or graduate study.

The number of scholarships available and the dollar amount may vary each year depending on the number of qualified applications received.  The maximum lifetime award a recipient is eligible to receive is $10,000

Additional Selection Criteria

Who Is Eligible to Apply?

  • Surviving children and spouses of public service employees (in education, health care, not-for-profit, public safety, and local and state government) who died in the line of duty.
  • Applicants must provide a letter from the deceased employee's place of work.
  • When applying, applicants must currently attend or be planning to attend an accredited two-year community college, four-year accredited university, or vocational school full time.
  • Study can be at the undergraduate, graduate, or technical level.
  • Awards are granted without regard to race, color, creed, religion, age, gender, disability, or national origin.

Application Process

TO APPLY, GO TO:  https://learnmore.scholarsapply.org/missionsq/

Applicants are responsible for gathering and submitting all necessary information, including one letter of recommendation and an official letter from the deceased employee’s place of work, certifying that the employee died in the line of duty. Applications are evaluated on the information supplied and applicants are encouraged to answer all questions as thoroughly as possible.

Scholarship recipients are also selected based on academic record, demonstration of leadership, participation in school and community activities, academic honors, work experience, statement of goals and aspirations, and financial need.

Applicants will be notified of acceptance by June. Not all applicants to the program will be selected as recipients. Applicants may reapply to the program each year that they meet eligibility requirements. Checks are mailed to each recipient’s home address and are made payable to the school on the student’s behalf. Individuals may reapply for the scholarship, but may only receive a maximum of $10,000 over their academic career.

For additional information or questions regarding the scholarship program, please contact Irica Solomon at ISolomon@missionsq.org


April 1, 2023

For the application or more information go to: